Archive for April, 2012


Chapter at Florida State University Wins the 2012 Student Chapter of the Year Award!

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:34 am by nmrtsecretary

The New Members Round Table (NMRT) and the American Library Association (ALA) Membership Committee wish to congratulate the American Library Association Student Chapter at Florida State University as the winner of the 2012 ALA Student Chapter of the Year Award. The runner-up of this year’s award is the ALA Student Chapter at Indiana University.

The Student Chapter of the Year Award is presented in recognition of a chapter’s outstanding contributions to ALA, its school, and the profession. The purpose of the award is to increase student involvement in ALA through student chapters and to recognize its leaders. Official ALA Student Chapters are organizations formed by students at schools offering accredited programs of library and information studies. The winning student chapter receives a $1,000 travel grant to help with the cost of ALA conference attendance.

This year’s Student Chapter of the Year Award Committee praises the Florida State University ALA student chapter for its accomplishments in each of the six categories related to the Student Chapter of the Year Award. The committee was impressed with the chapter’s use of technology to recruit, retain, and communicate with members, especially PhD candidates, and the variety of activities for both local and distance students. The chapter leadership also demonstrated a strong commitment to future growth by drafting a strategic plan to solidify the long-term prosperity of the chapter.

Dr. Christie Koontz, Faculty Advisor to the Florida State University student chapter, stated, “We are an old established school (1947) and the roots of LIS are strong here. Many of today’s leaders built this chapter over and over. The recent groups have struggled to blend a once largely face to face student chapter into one membered by students primarily online. They have succeeded. It is time-consuming for those who are on campus yet they recognize their responsibility. It is also time-consuming to advise and encourage them each semester– but over and over– they make it so rewarding. Our profession is driven by service and it shows at this early stage of development.”

The runner-up of this year’s award, the ALA Student Chapter at Indiana University, is recognized for their wealth of events and collaborations with other student groups. We also applaud their chapter’s leadership, mentoring efforts, and excellent use of numerous communication methods.

The members of the SCOTYA Committee, NMRT, and the ALA Membership Committee appreciate the time and effort put in by all of the nominated ALA student chapters this year, and encourage all to keep up the great work!


Kirby McCurtis Wins the 2012 NMRT Shirley Olofson Memorial Award!

Posted in Annual at 2:47 pm by nmrtsecretary

Kirby McCurtis is the 2012 recipient of the New Members Round Table (NMRT) Shirley Olofson Memorial Award. This award, named in honor of the late NMRT President Shirley Olofson, is given annually to defray the costs of attending the ALA Annual Conference. Criteria for the award include membership in ALA and NMRT, promise or activity in the area of professional development, and financial need.

Kirby McCurtis is a Youth Librarian at Multnomah County Library in Portland, Oregon. She earned her MLIS from the University of California, Los Angeles and her BA in sociology at the University of California, Santa Cruz. Kirby is an ALA Councilor-At-Large and is active in NMRT and BCALA. She was also an Emerging Leader in 2010.

The committee would like to thank all who applied for this year’s Shirley Olofson Memorial Award. Further information about this award, including past recipients, is available at the NMRT awards page.

The Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee 2010-2011

Holly Okuhara, Chair
Natalie Clewell
Holly Gerber
Christy Rickey Meister
Angiah Davis

Amy Honisett Wins the 2012 NMRT Professional Development Grant!

Posted in Annual at 8:45 am by nmrtsecretary

Amy Honisett has been selected as the 2012 recipient of the NMRT Professional Development Grant. Formerly the 3M/NMRT Professional Development Grant, this award will this year be awarded solely by NMRT. It covers round-trip airfare, lodging, and conference registration fees for attendance at the American Library Association for an NMRT member who wants to participate more fully in ALA.

Amy Honisett is currently working as the Education Librarian at University of Utah in Salt Lake City. She received her MLS from Drexel University, where she was awarded the Dean’s Fellowship. She currently volunteers with the ALA Social Responsibilities Round Table as the Newsletter Editor, as well as with the Utah Library Association and the Mid-continental Chapter of the Medical Library Association. She looks forward to being more deeply involved with SRRT and NMRT, and to networking with the diverse array of librarians who attend ALA Annual every year.

More information about the NMRT Professional Development Grant, including a list of past recipients, is available on the NMRT Awards, Grants, and Scholarships webpage (