2023 Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Winner Announced

The New Members Round Table’s (NMRT) Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee is pleased to announce Leah Choi as the 2023 recipient of the 2023 Olofson Award.

Leah Choi (she/her) is currently a MLIS student at San Jose State University in San Jose, California. She also holds a BFA in Photography and a minor in International Studies from University of Washington, Seattle, and is a graduate of the Baking and Pastry Certificate program at The Culinary Institute of America. Leah is currently a Digital Asset Coordinator with The Huntington Library in San Marino, CA. In addition to being a member of the American Library Association, Leah is a member of the California Library Association, ALA’s New Members Round Table, and Social Responsibilities Round Table. She is dedicated to the work of equity, diversity, and inclusion and has a strong passion to create inclusive and equitable community-based services, focusing on the needs of marginalized or vulnerable groups.

The Shirley Olofson Memorial Award is presented annually in honor of Shirley Olofson, a well-respected former NMRT President, who died during her term in office. The award, which is intended to help defray costs to attend the ALA Annual Conference, will be presented in the form of a check for $1,000.00 during the 2023 Annual Conference in Chicago, IL. Congrats, Leah!

This entry was posted in NMRT Awards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *